A Word a Week Photograph Challenge – Year

The other challenge that A Word in Your Ear poses every week is a word she chooses from the dictionary. “Year” is this week’s. As I get older, the years seem to blur by. How can it be December when it was only February last month?

On my Livejournal blog, I always do a summary of the year, with a few points each month for things I did and I always make a list of what I’d done that was new that year. That’s the only New Year’s Resolution I make, Try something new. I usually manage to keep it. I may try a new hobby, or learn something new through work, or just visit a location or museum that’s new to me. I’ve broadened it to make sure stuff like that counts! Some years are better than others but I can mostly find something different to do/see/try.

Capuchin Crypt, Rome

Capuchin Crypt, Rome

This year, travel took me to Rome which wasn’t new to me but I saw the Capuchin crypt (bones!) which was new.

St. Louis Gate, Quebec City, Canada

St. Louis Gate, Quebec City, Canada

Travel also took me to Quebec City where I’d never been before and we did it via an overnight train ride, also the first time I’d done that. The journey wasn’t overly successful. Though it was lovely to see Quebec and visit friends, I had a bit of trouble with my back which detracted from it somewhat. Back in the UK in November, I traveled across some new countryside and visited a few new locations including the war museum in Manchester and Rievaulx Abbey ruins in Yorkshire.

Imperial War Museum North, Salford

Imperial War Museum North, Salford

Local highlights included another visit to Halifax by the Tall Ships, always one of my favourite things to do here.

US Coast Guard Eagle, Talls Ships festival, Halifax. July 2012

US Coast Guard Eagle, Talls Ships festival, Halifax. July 2012

I saw Cheap Trick in concert, a band I’ve liked since I was a teen. Really great gig!

Rick Neilson, Cheap Trick

Rick Neilson, Cheap Trick


All in all, a pretty good year.

Leave a Reply

