Bookstore Bounty

Bookstore Bounty

Bookstore Bounty

Yesterday, I went to the Chapters bookstore with my mother and my niece. We go every year after Christmas to spend our gift cards. As I mostly read ebooks these days, I headed for my other favourite section. Travel books! I know you can get great travel books and apps and magazines on tablets but there’s just something about browsing through a real travel book with glossy paper and beautiful photos, hands full of postit notes to mark the pages.

As you can see, two of the four purchases involve New York City because, as you know, I’m planning a visit there for early May.

This, then, was my bounty from yesterday’s visit.

A magazine called Discover Britain

Lonely Planet’s Not for Parents: New York City

Lonely Planet’s Guide to Travel Photography

Eyewitness Top 10 New York City

The “Not for Parents” book is a new brand to me. It’s not a guide book, it’s 95 pages of little bits of trivia about New York, and it includes history, general triva, “Did you know”, and just, loads of different aspects of the city. One double page is all about Grand Central Station. A blurb about the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) and the three women that instigated the idea of short term revolving exhibits. There’s Empire State Building, baseball, fashion, skyscrapers, Andy Warhol, and it goes on and on in short two page spreads per topic. Wonderful! I anticipate it will contribute a lot of little trivia bits to my upcoming travelogue!

The Travel Photography book lured me because it’s got, in addition to the usual tips about composition and camera gear and software, you also get chapters on shooting iconic views like the Eiffel Tower or the Colosseum, how to take pictures of street scenes, museums, performances, wildlife, night life, shopping, festivals, etc. That’s all really useful stuff to me!

I do like the Top 10 books, as well. They’re small, they have lots of maps and good info about what to see and details like opening times and days and locations. They break the city down by sections and popular neighbourhoods in addition to top 10 lists like museums, festivals, churches, places for children, etc.

The magazine? I just love travel magazines and love the ones about Britian, I often get ideas of places I want to go for the next time I’m there and I like to see photos and read information about places I’ve been. This issue has a piece on Bath, one of my favourite cities in England.

Leave a Reply

