A Word a Week Challenge – Old

A Word in Your Ear’s weekly challenge this week is “old”.

“Old” is a loaded word. People don’t like to be called “old” but they shouldn’t mind it. With age comes experience, respect and a better sense of who you are. You have stories to tell. You have seen and done a lot, made mistakes, hopefully learned from them and can pass on advice, whether it’s taken or not. Think of all the amazing things you’ve seen in your life and all the people you have touched and whose lives have touched yours.

Getting old isn’t for sissies, either. It takes stamina. Things don’t work the way they used to and it’s hard learning to depend on people. There can be a loss of independence. There’s a lot of loss, full stop as you start to lose loved ones.

Here are some portraits I’ve taken over the years of people I’ve known, met or just seen on the streets. They are people that have endured. Some are no longer with me. Some I remember with a smile and a tear. Some were complete strangers but their vitality and grace drew my camera their way.

Let’s start with family, first. You will notice the common denominator here is humour and laughter. We’re like that :)

My father. Enjoyed Christmas.

My mother. Chilly, in Leeds Castle, England

My aunt and uncle, siblings to my dad

My uncle, my dad’s twin

The following were strangers to me, people I’ve seen while people watching.

There’s a lot of life in the old dancing shoes yet

Old friends enjoy the summer sunshine

Father and son “down the pub” for a chat and a visit with friends.

I think of these men who could not walk the streets together, dressed like this, earlier in their lives. It makes me happy to see them be who they are in the face of the world.

The older generation make sure the traditions live on.

One thought on “A Word a Week Challenge – Old

Leave a Reply

