Stoked for two upcoming trips

Rue St. Paul, Old Montreal

An opportunity came up last week for another quick trip. This time to Montreal in July. The legendary rock band Queen is my all time favourite. After their lead singer, Freddie Mercury, died over 20 years ago, it seemed as if that would be the end of their touring days. But they took on Paul Rogers as vocalist. He was best known as lead singer for the late 60s and early 70s bands Free, and Bad Company. He’s a decent singer, some would argue one of the best rock vocalists. I was less than impressed and I didn’t think the classic Queen music suited him. They did a cd of new and original music, though, and that was much better. He hasn’t stayed with them.

Two years ago, they did some concerts in London using American Idol contestant Adam Lambert who has made a good career for himself. I was skeptical but saw some of the video taken at the gig and ended up being very impressed. This summer, Queen and Adam Lambert are going on a 6 week North American tour with several stops in Canadian cities, including Montreal. I work with someone that’s a major Adam Lambert fan as well as a fan of Queen and we have decided to go. I gave her the ticket money and she snagged us two good seats on the floor pretty near the stage. Another good friend of mine has a ticket and she’s going as well. We may all end up sharing a hotel room, depending on who else ends up going.

Queen is a bucket list band for me and I’m hugely stoked for this one!! And, you know, a couple of days in Montreal thrown in only adds sugar and spice to the mix. Montreal is a fantastic city with lots of personality and style. An unexpected quick trip! Gotta love those!

Coronation Street studio tour tickets!

Coronation Street studio tour tickets!

You all know I’m heading to the U.K. and Paris in less than a month. Yep, stoked for that. We’ve already got tickets to see The Mousetrap and a Vikings exhibit in London and have our must-see-do items for Paris and day trips from there. You may also know that I’m a Coronation Street fan. Corrie is a British serial drama or soap that’s been running since 1960. I’ve been lucky enough to visit the set four times to date and there’s one more visit in the offing.

Coronation Street is now filmed at a new studio at Media City in Salford, near to Manchester and the old set is just sitting there, waiting for someone to redevelop it. Before that happens, though, it’s being opened as a guided tour between April and early October this year. Today, tickets went on sale so I snapped up a couple. Why? Yes, I know I’ve been there already but a fan never passes by an opportunity! This is a guided tour, with backstage access including some of the areas the public doesn’t get to including the green room and the dressing room area. Not all of the sets are there, of course, but some of the interiors of the houses will be. I don’t think they’ll have the sets or reproductions of the sets for the pub or other businesses. They will also let you outside on the famed cobbled street for photos as well. This will be the last shot before they close it for good.

I have our tickets and I’m stoked!

7 thoughts on “Stoked for two upcoming trips

  1. Rusha Sams says:

    You are quite fortunate to have so much to look forward to! These sound like great trips and opportunities to see performances/sights you’ve wanted to see!!! Thanks for telling us about them. Now, I want to read the stories!!

  2. Shirl says:

    I love rue St. Paul and those galleries. They have funkier artsy neighbourhood at the Plateau too. Just bought my flight tickets for 399 all incl. porter airlines flight departs Tuesday July 15 at 410 pm flight 417. I fly up July 13 at 410 on flight 424. I think Wednesday the price drops so thought I’d lock it in today. So all booked!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

