Road Trip Advice from Wendy Perrin

Bridge to Anglsey, North Wales

Saw this blog post by Wendy Perrin who writes for one of the travel mags, Conde Nast Traveler, I think. Clearly she’s writing for Trip Advisor, too and in this post she’s writing about how to make a road trip a great experience.  With our upcoming road trip getting closer, I read it with interest.

Excellent advice here including:

Get off the highway/motorway/interstate and hit the country roads (Yep, I’ll go with that one. We use the main roads sometimes but like the smaller and slower routes to actually see the area. You never see much of interest from the highways)

Follow the signs to places you have never heard of or didn’t know were there. (We’ve done that and found some interesting museums or just views along the way)

Ask locals for recommendations, forget the guide books and apps. (Well, ok, I’d still use guidebooks because even they have little known attractions and sites but asking locals where to shop or eat is going to steer you in the right direction, for sure)

Find the kitsch, the unusual, the lesser known. (I like to buy tea towels for souvenirs, and can remember the places I’ve been when i use them. I also pin one up in the kitchen for a bit of artwork, and change it from time to time)

The blog post talks about the American Road Trip, but obviously, it doesn’t matter where you’re doing it. Read the full post through the link below.

How to Make Your Great American Road Trip Even Greater

About

I love to travel, take photos, read. I love Coronation Street, Doctor Who, Dexter, True Blood. I enjoy museums, galleries, shopping, sightseeing and food when I travel. I have a husband and a great family. I live by the Atlantic ocean in a small city which I love.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Great websites, Sightseeing
4 comments on “Road Trip Advice from Wendy Perrin
  1. Rusha Sams says:

    Thanks for acquainting me with Wendy Perrin. I’m looking forward to reading more from her. What you have included in your blog speaks to me because we think alike. We love side roads, Mom & Pop restaurants, and local hang-outs. It’s just finding them!!!

    • Tvor says:

      Wendy Perrin is a wealth of information, well worth checking her blog. We’re looking forward to our drive through New England so much!

Leave a Reply

August 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Travel and Me

I am unapologetically a tourist. I love to take photos and I enjoy writing about my travels. I love to sightsee, and to wander in museums and galleries. I love cathedrals and churches - the architecture and usually, the art, can astonish me. History fascinates me and architecture draws my camera out time and again.

I'm not an intrepid or adventurous traveler like some, nor does a sunny, sandy resort or luxurious cruise ship attract me.

I envision this blog as a place for my travel memories, my travels as they occur (Yay for laptops and free wifi!), or for chat about travel related things like books, movies, tv shows, websites, magazines, and anything else I think of that might suit! I hope you enjoy it!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 992 other followers

Ancient History
Flickr Photos
Halifax Waterfront

Mar II repairs, Halifax Waterfront

CSS Acadia on the Halifax Waterfront

More Photos
Followers
Free counters!
Cooking in the Archives

Updating Early Modern Recipes (1600-1800) in a Modern Kitchen

decocraftsdigicrafts

Having Fun with Photography

Dormouse Tidings

My travel blog

Sunday Photo Fiction

Fiction from Photos

Cardinal Guzman

Encyclopedia Miscellaneous - 'quality' blogging since August 2011

Checking In.

Posts from our worldwide adventure!

Travels with my Wife

Holidays and other Excursions

AB-Ootlanders

Canadians! We're sorry but we swear - We LOVE Outlander while we do it!

The Day After

Musings of a Wannabe Photographer

Corrie Street Chat

Coronation Street

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

shallotpeelblog

For years I've thought about starting a blog but I've not known what or how to do it. So, I'd better find out now!

The Fluff Is Raging

Flufferings on Arts, Culture and the Perpetual Allure of Uma Thurman by an Irish ex-pat currently at large in Canada

Emma Hynes

Reviews and opinion pieces on television, music, film and more

The Savvy Reader

Looking for Savvy Readers to talk books with!

The Compostual Existentialist

Wordpress flavour with added crunchy bits

14 Weeks Worth of Socks

because its important to have clean underwear

London Geek

This and that from a windowless office.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 992 other followers

