Daily Post Challenge: Photographic Muse

This week’s Daily Post challenge asks what subject to you return to over and over to photograph. I don’t really have a specific thing that appears in my photos consistently but I do have a topic that draws me – architecture. Specifically, architectural details. I look for the little flourishes around doors and windows and corners of buildings. I love the decoration carved into stone and brick or etched into glass. The style of the building makes it unique but it’s the extras that add the imagination.

Ordsall Hall, Salford

Centraal Station, Brussels

Manchester City Centre

Detail from some ruins in the Roman Forum. This gorgeous carving has weathered a milenium and more and still looks crisp. I’m sure it’s had some restoration work done to keep it clean but the intricate detail that still remains is spectacular.

2 thoughts on “Daily Post Challenge: Photographic Muse

Leave a Reply

